Always thinking about the next step…

One of the strange quirks of the academic year, especially the university system, is that by February of one year you are already planning for the start of the next.

This Wednesday I’m going to a lecture on picking my third year modules, which seems absurdly early and yet we are less than two week away from the Easter holidays!

I’m only just half way through my degree but already I’m receiving emails from UEA’s careers centre to remind that I need to get thinking about what comes next. Hopefully it’ll be postgraduate study which is quite a comforting thought – there’s a clear structure and a series of targets that have to be met, but if I didn’t go down the postgrad route… well everything seems to drop away into a bit of an abyss. It’s hard to imagine finding a job I love and being able to afford straight away to live somewhere that wasn’t back with my parents. So you know, fingers crossed the MA plan works out.

Currently I’m focusing on which modules I want to be taking next year, whether I want to run to be on the Drama Society committee again, and helping plan a short theatre festival tour with some of my housemates (more updates on that as it develops).

Most of the time I don’t spend studying is currently being taken up with organising the Drama Society’s short plays festival ‘Spotlight’, which is a great opportunity to give as many students as possible the chance to get involved in theatre making. I’m also beginning to realise that I might prefer helping people put on plays than actually doing them myself – information which may prove useful next time I take myself down to a career development meeting…

I love studying and learning about literature, I mean I’m even considering staying an extra year in education I like it so much, but I think that what I’ll be remembering most from uni is the amazing extra-curricular things I’ve done – such as all my work with the Drama Society.

Well, that and Biddy’s Tea Rooms, which is still my favourite place in the whole of Norwich!

biddys

Next weekend I’ll either be dropping by Norwich castle or Cromer, so hopefully I’ll have plenty of things to show and tell you about.

Leave a Reply

