The Week I Finally Went to the Sainsbury Visual Arts Centre…

Finding a free moment as we approach the end of term is difficult, but occasionally it is worth setting aside your towering pile of work in favour of UEA’s own brand of extra-curricular activities.

Last week I finally went to an exhibition held at the Sainsbury Visual Arts Centre, something I have been meaning to do since the end of Freshers’ week last year. Their current exhibition is of the works of Alphonse Mucha, a Czech artist I remember doing a school project on in year five. Luckily I still enjoy his art and at only £3 it was very friendly to an end of term student budget.

mucha

For what is a fairly tucked away art gallery and museum, the Sainsbury Visual Arts Centre is regularly home to an impressive range of artists and their work. Earlier this year they played host to a series of sculptures by Henri Matisse (It is also famous for being the home of the Avengers in the latest Marvel films).

I enjoyed looking around the exhibition, particularly the posters Mucha created for the then famous actress Sarah Bernhardt, and I’ll be keeping an eye out to see what is being put on in the future. Whilst I’d recommend students to go and have a look anyway, it’s also the perfect sort of thing to take your parents to when they visit.

My other bit of culture last week was a talk at the cathedral given by UEA’s own Dr Rebecca Pinner. Dr. Pinner is one of the lecturers on my Medieval Literature module so Sam, one of my housemates who also happens to take the module, and myself decided to go along even though St. Edmund (the topic of the talk) predates any of the texts we are studying by quite a long way.

The event itself was held in the cathedral’s library (which now I know is open to the public I may go and explore some time) and it was amazing to see how many people turned up. The talk itself was on the topic of the imagery of St. Edmund around East Anglia – St. Edmund being a very local saint- and happened to coincide with his feast day. It’s probably not everyone’s cup of tea but I really enjoyed it and I’m sure that I’ll bore any friend or relative with it who happens to be in the cathedral with me next time I’m there.

These particular events might not be to everyone’s taste, but they’re just a tiny sample of the kind of events and opportunities that you can find in Norwich. If nothing else, it’s good to do something extracurricular which isn’t the LCR…

Leave a Reply

