Avoiding the dreaded ‘Summer Slump’

I realise that a lot of my recent posts have been fairly serious/ political in nature, and whilst they are an important part of my blog, I want to try and even that out with some of the more pleasant aspects of student life.

I don’t know about everyone else, but I find it impossible to get things done over the summer. All sense of schedule goes out of the window and I’m reading until four in the morning or not responding to emails for nearly a week. I call this, ‘The Summer Slump’.

This occurs because all those things you didn’t do during the term, e.g. the shows you didn’t watch, the books you didn’t read, the people you didn’t see, are suddenly no longer the forbidden fruit. You can shamelessly indulge in all of them and this simply overloads the system.

Consequently, nothing gets done.

Whilst there is no cure for this seasonal funk it is important that you attempt to fight it off, for if you don’t then by the time September rolls around your brain will have turned to mush. I speak from experience.

Unfortunately I can’t offer any full proof methods of keeping the slump at bay, but I can offer these tips-

  • See old friends. It sounds obvious but it’s like chicken soup for the soul, and it gets you out of the house – an important step in any attempt to combat the slump.
  • Have a reading/watch list. Undoubtedly there will have been a lot that you haven’t found time to check out during the term and crossing even a film title of the list can feel like an accomplishment after a month of no academic work.
  • Do something (a project for instance) that imposes some form of schedule on you. It’ll stop you feeling like you have wasted a day and will give you something to look back on by the summer’s end. Running a blog for instance…
  • Keep that brain ticking over. I know what gets to me most is the lack of classes to give me a mental workout. Like any muscle you need to keep flexing it if you want it to stay strong. Don’t lose all your hard work from the previous year by not touching your subject for three months. I download podcasts from iTunes and iTunes U to keep me thinking over topics I covered this year, and to prepare for next term.
  • Most importantly however, take a moment to enjoy the fact that for the next few weeks you aren’t reliant on your own cooking. Savour it (literally) whilst it lasts.

Perhaps the greatest obstacle for productivity over the summer is the internet. Why commit to doing something for a whole hour when you can just commit three minutes at a time to cat videos?

This is probably why most of my reading gets done when I’m somewhere without access to wifi.

Speaking of which, I am going to be in deepest, darkest Wales for the next two weeks so it may be a while before I can write another post.

Until then enjoy your summers and best of luck averting the Slump.

11720129_10207423900494652_2096192567_n

What I’ve got through so far this summer (Ok technically I’m rereading The Song of Achilles for the dozenth time but still)

Leave a Reply

