My 2014 – (through ever so slightly rose-tinted glasses)

Bonne année!

I hope you all had a lovely Christmas full of fun, food and suitable festivities. I have perhaps, just a little, overindulged but if not at Christmas when, and as a student who is used to subsisting on Tesco’s essentials I made the most of having such wonderful food provided for free.

tumblr_nhbfesodSI1qm67xwo2_1280

An English Literature student’s Christmas

But now we are in that strange lull between Christmas and the New Year, a time which is naturally a reflective one.

This time last year I was preparing to move from being a part time Londoner to a full time one, I was worried about finding somewhere to live, people to live with, all whilst not being sure that this acting malarkey was what I really wanted to be doing. It was in short a very anxious time for me, and not one I wish to repeat.

Whilst I have finally accepted that drama isn’t my calling in life, I did have an incredible year, two shows in London, two in Edinburgh. The Fringe Festival was perhaps one of the most exciting months of my life that pushed me to the limits of both my physical and mental abilities; I did a show every night, walked about five miles every day ( a conservative guess), and saw more theatre than I think I have ever before seen in my life. I’d recommend everyone go at least once even if as an audience member rather than a participant.

Other highlights of this year include the significant other, starting uni, meeting the bonkers group of people I am privileged enough to call my friends, and being paid for the first time for my writing. So it’s not been too shabby.

I realise that I am so lucky to be surrounded by such warm, supportive people, I have found not only what I am good at, but what I am passionate about, and I am fortunate to be doing it at one of the best universities in the country (*slightly biased opinion*).  2014 has been one of, if not the, most important years of my life, and I’m all revved up to see what opportunities and experiences 2015 will bring.

I wish the same for you all,

Happy New Year everybody!

Two of the best gifts ever - a genuine Roman coin and a signed book of Robert Graves poetry!

Two of the best gifts ever – a genuine Roman coin and a signed book of Robert Graves poetry!

Leave a Reply

