Home for Christmas

It’s almost impossible to believe that it’s been a week since the end of term.

I’m back in the Shire and it feels like nothing has changed at all, UEA seems as distant and fantastical as Narnia when I walk past my old college, and when I see old friends it is as though nothing has changed. Maybe it’s always like this or maybe I’ll acclimatise eventually, I suspect the former.

I also now understand why during my gap year my friend’s at uni seemed to go off the radar for months at a time, you really feel as though you’re in a separate world and coming home is vaguely unsettling. I’ve got too much free time and not enough to do, clearly I’ve adjusted to the pace of uni life.

But, what does need doing is reading for next term; my tutor last semester said to enjoy reading for pleasure over the holiday, but I have a four hundred page novel to read for one module, and another in which we will be reading a novel a week so it makes sense to get a head start now. One day I shall be able to read what I like, one day…

I was a little wary of my reading list for next term as it included books such as W.G. Sebald’s ‘Austerlitz’, whose reviews include these gems:

austerlitz

austerlitz2

But so far I’m actually enjoying it, although I do have three hundred pages still to go. I’ll keep you posted.

A few days ago I was talking to a friend from college who also had a gap year, and we both agreed that taking a break from our studies had made us a lot more invested when we finally got to uni, even long days seem worth it when you are doing the subject you love. Just a thought for anyone out there considering a gap year.

Christmas is almost upon us and so the frantic last minute present buying continues, best of luck to all of you on student budgets.

I think that’s all for now as I have reading to do and relatives to visit,

Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night.

2 thoughts on “Home for Christmas

Leave a Reply

