‘Who’d walk in this bleak place?…’

After three months of living at UEA, admiring almost daily the beauty of sunrise and sunset over the Broad, I finally went for a walk around our lovely lake. It was suitably cold, as you will notice from my heavy duty hat and scarf, but worth it to see the British winter up close and personal.

20141214_134155 20141214_134436 20141214_134448

20141214_135104On my wall I have pinned a poem by Sylvia Plath; like much of her work it is not of an overtly cheerful nature, but whenever I read it I think of autumnal mornings and of watching the orange mists over the water whilst I make tea. 

I thought you might enjoy it as well.

tumblr_ngn5gfibbz1qm67xwo1_1280

During my walk around the lake ‘a single swan’ did me the poetic courtesy of floating past

Leave a Reply

